VSO Chamber Orchestra “An Evening of Brahms”

Show Time:
Wednesday, September 7, 2016 at 7:00 p.m.
Ticket Prices:
Music & Theatre Hall


Brahms: Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115
Brahms: Sextet No. 2 in G Major, Op. 36

Considered one of the greatest composers of chamber music, Brahms was simultaneously a traditionalist and an innovator. His Clarinet Quintet, a uniquely challenging and beautifully autumnal piece, was composed during the last years of his life. His desire to write for the clarinet pulled him back out of retirement, resulting in some of his most mature and influential compositions. The G Major Sextet is one of his most intimate, introspective and sublime works. Brahms dedicated it to Agathe von Siebold as they parted ways and wrote to a friend, “Here I have freed myself from my last love.” Join Virginia Symphony Orchestra musicians for an evening of some of Brahms’ most beloved works.

Vahn Armstrong, Concertmaster
Elizabeth Coulter Vonderheide, Assistant Principal Violin
Satoko Rickenbacker, Viola
Matthew Umlauf, Viola
Michael Daniels, Principal Cello
Rebecca Gilmore Phillips, Assistant Principal Cello
Michael Byerly, Principal Clarinet

Official Website


Ferguson Center for the Arts Ticket Policies.