Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 5

Show Time:
Friday, April 7, 2017 at 8:00 p.m.
Ticket Prices:
$25 | $59 | $76 | $110
Diamonstein Concert Hall

VSO Fifth Symphony

JoAnn Falletta, conductor
David Daniels, countertenor
Michael Daniels, cello

Griffes: Pleasure Dome of Kubla Khan
Kenneth Fuchs: Poems of Life
Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 5

Well-known to VSO audiences, composer Kenneth Fuchs brings us a world premiere. This is a continuation of more than 30 years of collaboration between Fuchs and Music Director JoAnn Falletta, beginning in 1985 when they were students at Juilliard. Written specifically for VSO Principal Cellist Michael Daniels and his brother David, this piece is based on the poems of artist and writer, Judith Wolf. The performance concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Fifth Symphony, a romantic staple with a heart-melting horn solo in the second movement, a favorite among musicians everywhere.

Official Website


Ferguson Center for the Arts Ticket Policies.