Russian Fireworks!

Show Time:
Friday, September 23, 2016 at 8:00 p.m.
Ticket Prices:
$25 | $59 | $76 | $110
Diamonstein Concert Hall

Russian Fireworks image

JoAnn Falletta, conductor
Virginia Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Robert Shoup, chorusmaster
Conrad Tao, piano

Borodin: Polovtsian Dances
Stravinsky: Petrouchka
Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No.

The new season opens with virtuosity and fireworks! JoAnn Falletta brings music from the magical worlds of Russian opera and ballet. The revelry starts with the Polovtsian Dances from the opera Prince Igor, one of the most well-known and celebrated melodies in classical music (remember Strangers In Paradise from Kismet?). Then enjoy Stravinsky’s exotic Petrouchka, commissioned for Paris’s Ballet Russes in 1910. Finally, the young and gifted virtuoso Conrad Tao takes the stage to perform Rachmaninoff’s dazzling Piano Concerto No. 3!

Official Website


Ferguson Center for the Arts Ticket Policies.